In Evil Long I Took Delight

In Evil long I took delight,

Unawed by shame or fear.

Till a new object struck my sight,

and stopp’d my wild career:

I saw one hanging on a tree

By agonies and blood,

Who fixed His languid eyes on me,

as near His cross I stood.

Sure never till my latest breath,

Can I forget that look:

It seemed to charge me with His death,

Though not a Word I spoke:

My conscience felt and own’d the guilt

and plunged me in despair:

I saw my sins,His blood had spilt,

and helped to nail Him there

Alas I knew not what I did!

But now my tears are vain:

Where shall my trembling soul be hid?

For I the Lord hath slain!

-a second look He gave which said,

“I freely all forgive;

This blood is for my ransom aid:

I die that thou may’st live.”

Thus while His death my sin displays

In all its blackest hue:

Such is the mystery of grace,

It seals my pardon too.

With pleasing grief, and mournful joy,

My spirit now is filled,

That I should such a life destroy,

Yet live by him I killed

By John Newton-(Author of Amazing grace- former slave owner and slave, a man so depraved even his fellow sailors abhored Him, but saved by Amazing grace of God!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

