An Open Letter To A Friend…(Warning against false prophets)

Dear April , How are you? It has been too long, I hope we can get together some time.Kris and I have fond memories of the years your family came to our church.

I saw the dialogue which many had with you on Facebook about Kenneth Copeland, and felt as a friend, (and pastor) I should offer to you my own updated input on the subject.

As you know I was very much into Copeland and Hagin as a young pastor , immersing myself in the full spectrum of the Word of Faith teaching.

But Kris and I had an experience which God used to really cause us to rethink our association with Word Faith teaching, in fact we had to re-examine everything we believed in the light of the Word of God.

 

Sometime ago, (I think it was the mid 1980’s, we went to a small town in Iowa to attend a conference of fellow Word Faith pastors. I believe it was at xxxx’s church. A car pulled into the parking lot with a vanity license plate which said “Iamagod”.

Kris and I looked at each other with that look which says, “What have we gotten ourselves into?”, and the Holy Spirit spoke to my heart saying, “All He is doing is taking your own teachers to their logical conclusion”.

April, this began for us a long period of soul-searching and painful re-examination of all of our doctrines in the light of the  Word of God. What are you going to do when you realize that your teachers are unbiblical? Are you going to be loyal to them or to the Word of God?

It became evident to us that these  teachers really do teach that believers are “little gods” , which is heretical. There are other, even worse teachings, such as Copeland’s teaching that “any born again believer could have died on the cross”, here is the very quote;

“The Spirit of God spoke to me and He said, “Son, realize this. Now follow me in this and don’t let your tradition trip you up.” He said, “Think this way — a twice-born man whipped Satan in his own domain.” And I threw my Bible down… like that. I said, “What?” He said, “A born-again man defeated Satan, the firstborn of many brethren defeated him.” He said, “You are the very image, the very copy of that one.” I said, “Goodness, gracious sakes alive!” And I began to see what had gone on in there, and I said, “Well now you don’t mean, you couldn’t dare mean, that I could have done the same thing?” He said, “Oh yeah, if you’d had the knowledge of the Word of God that He did, you could have done the same thing, ’cause you’re a reborn man too.”
——-Kenneth Copeland (Substitution and Identification, tape #00-0202, side 2)

 

I have since then had to repent (admit I was wrong, and go back to orthodoxy) of my involvement with these false teachers, as it is a sin to follow them. One of the questions I have had to face was, “What was it in me that resonated with such false teachers, who teach that “men are in God’s class of being”, and that we can with words “create our own worlds”? 

Remember that con-men can only appeal to the larceny in our own hearts. As a pastor and friend

I urge you dear sister, to think about what I have said, re-examine what you believe, in the light of scripture, take a hard look, spare nothing, and flee the Word/Faith movement, while you can!

Dear sister, it is hard to face these realities, but there are more quotes than this to prove that Hagin and Copeland are the very people Jesus and the disciples warned about in view of the last days.

But there were false prophets also among the people, even as there shall be false teachers among you, who privily shall bring in damnable heresies, even denying the Lord that bought them, and bring upon themselves swift destruction.And many shall follow their pernicious ways; by reason of whom the way of truth shall be evil spoken of.And through covetousness shall they with feigned words make merchandise of you: whose judgment now of a long time lingereth not, and their damnation slumbereth not.For if God spared not the angels that sinned, but cast them down to hell, and delivered them into chains of darkness, to be reserved unto judgment;(2 Peter 2:1-4)

I didn’t want to renounce these people, I didn’t want to be perceived as “negative”, “religious” or a “heresy hunter”, but it gets to the point where you have to decide where your loyalty lies, is it to Copeland and Hagin or to the Word of God.

I still believe in Salvation, the Baptism of the Holy Ghost, healing, miracles prophecy, all of it! I just refuse to listen to men who say that we are all “little gods” and that any believer with revelation knowledge could have died on the cross, or that “the believer is just as much an incarnation as Jesus was”*.

*(Hagin, “The Incarnation,” The Word of Faith, 12/80, cited in Christianity in Crisis, p. 175,397).

April these are dangerous heresies, they sound good and appeal to human vanity, but they aren’t the faith of the apostles of Jesus. The apostles warned us, that in the last days, many will depart from the true faith…

We love you and would be happy t talk further about it, With Love and concern…Pas Bill and Kris

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

