A Poem Upon Seeing A Picture Of The Cross

My lovely wife Kristin, wrote a poem after being inspired by this beautiful Gustave Dore painting of the cross of Jesus. I just wanted to share it, as I found both picture and poem to be moving. Enjoy….

 

Got really choked up when I saw this amazing piece of art today ... the foreboding  dark clouds pressing down upon the whole world took my breath away as He hung on that tree ... His love for you ... His dying love  for me. Then look up the ever so brilliant yet slightest finger of light breaking through the blackest of all nights ...His love for you His dying love for me ... He is the ressurection, He is the only life .. He will wipe away every tear ..., if you remain in Me... His love for you... His love for me ... someday we will  see face to face, no more darkness no more shadows ... His love for you ... His love for me. Thank you my Jesus, you set me free.C
Got really choked up when I saw this amazing piece of art today …
the foreboding dark clouds pressing down upon the whole world took my breath away as He hung on that tree …
His love for you … His dying love for me.
Then look up the ever so brilliant yet slightest finger of light breaking through the blackest of all nights …
His love for you His dying love for me …
He is the ressurection, He is the only life ..
He will wipe away every tear …, if you remain in Me…
His love for you… His love for me …
someday we will see face to face, no more darkness no more shadows …
His love for you … His love for me.
Thank you my Jesus, you set me free.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Poem Upon Seeing A Picture Of The Cross

  1. That’s really awesome Kris!

  2. Diana says:

    An amazing work of art. Thank you for the poem – where would we be without Jesus.

  3. Evie says:

    Lovely Poem – thank you very much for sharing.
    Ps Bill, Is it true that Philip Powell is purported to have said that Jacob Prasch is a gnostic?

    • billrandles says:

      He implied as much when he named Jacob’s book “Shadows of the Beast” and spoke of those who rely on “Midrash” as being “Gnostics”. Please pray for these two, they are both in my view, servants of God but they can’t seem to resolve their differences, which are of a personal nature.

      • Evie says:

        I take it that Philip Powell’s position is pre-trib where as Jacob Prasch believes the rapture will occur towards the end of the 7yr tribulation period. My position has always leaned towards mid-trib to later in the 7yr period (although I believe Christians should never be dogmatic on the timing of the rapture until after the rapture, because the Scripture is not totally clear on the subject – thus all the arguing/debate.) One can have an opinion though.
        Thank you for your reply. I am interested to know your position on the timing of the rapture.

      • billrandles says:

        I range from pre-trib to pre wrath rapture,like you I believe we should just be ready . Love Pas Bill

  4. philipcwm says:

    I have a lot of sympathy by the expressed views of both Evie Glagow and Bill Randles. Throughout my ministerial life – stretching now to over 57 years – I have alternated between Pre-Trib and Mid-Trib but most recently have come down in favour of the Pre-Trib view, because in my opinion it is the ONLY view which safeguards the important truth of the imminence of Christ’s return. However contrary to what is widely alleged I do not believe or teach that it is vital truth which if a person does not endorse he is in error. I do however believe and have strongly asserted that the statement that Christ cannot return until the faithful Church has identified the antichrist is serious error.

    I did not say that Jacob Prasch is a gnostic. What I did say is that due to his many dogmatic assertions which he fails to document he should be examined as a possible modern day gnostic. I was using that word advisedly with reference to it’s basic meaning “to know” or SUPERIOR KNOWLEDGE. Early Gnostics worked from extra biblical books from which they derived certain so called KNOWLEDGE – gnosis. Midrash while enjoying sparse reference in Scripture is built upon extra biblical books and ideas and then it’s meaning is extended into questionable areas based on one of the basic meanings of the Hebrew word = “to investigate”. There is no biblical warrant for saying MIDRASH is a biblical hermeneutic related to claimed Jewish concepts. The biblical meaning is “story” or “commentary”. I hope to develop this in my book WHO IS JESUS and on my blog when I can work out how to present it.

    Every blessing in Christ alone,

    Philip L. Powell
    CWM – Bisbane, Australia.

Leave a Reply

