Erratta- I Fell for a fake Quote- I stand corrected

In my previous article I attributed a quote to Pope Francis, which has turned out to be fake, although I found it in about six different places including the Washington Times, Drudge and Jews Views. In the interest of integrity I stand corrected.

Pope Francis did not say the following-

“Jesus Christ, Mohammed, Jehovah, Allah. These are all names employed to describe an entity that is distinctly the same across the world. For centuries, blood has been needlessly shed because of the desire to segregate our faiths. This, however, should be the very concept which unites us as people, as nations, and as a world bound by faith. Together, we can bring about an unprecedented age of peace, all we need to achieve such a state is respect each others beliefs, for we are all children of God regardless of the name we choose to address him by. We can accomplish miraculous things in the world by merging our faiths, and the time for such a movement is now. No longer shall we slaughter our neighbors over differences in reference to their God.”

The last thing I would want to do is bear false witness – so please be advised, I was tricked and passed it on- – Pastor Bill Randles

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Erratta- I Fell for a fake Quote- I stand corrected

  1. suez62 says:

    Thanks for humility, it has probably happened to us all at one time or another. But, it does sound like something he would say…;)

  2. Cindy says:

    Thanks for the correction. Putting the Koran as equal to the Bible is all the info a discerning child of God needs. Again, thank you so very much for being a light in these dark times.

  3. Elizabeth Walker says:

    This has probably happened to many of us, Pastor Bill, I know it has to me, we all make mistakes. Thank you for your immediate and hunble apology. It was also on washingtonpost.com.co which is a fake news site (and not that of The Washington Post newspaper), apparently it is like The Onion and its imitators — lesser-known but equally fraudulent websites, such as World News Daily Report and Washington Weekly News.

  4. Bev Markgraaf says:

    Hi – I also saw this in a number of places and nearly put it on my Facebook. Luckily I did not, I also do not want to put up anything that is false.

    Regards Beverley

  5. suez62 says:

    Not to change the subject, but are all of the commenters on here from the Cedar Rapids area? I’m praying for a gal or two or a group to have a bible study, or a home church to fellowship with in the Cedar Falls/Waterloo area. I can’t find any that seem to be teaching the good old fashion true Gospel…anyone have any ideas on that, please let me know. Thanks, s

  6. Lyn Doyle says:

    Thanks Bill. I’d expect nothing less than impeccable honesty from you. I saw part of that quote in a prophecy article a week or so ago.
    Blessings
    Lyn

Leave a Reply

