The Summer is Ended…by Bill Randles

TO BE READ ALOUD…

I heard a lamentation, a chorus of bitter regret…

The Harvest is Past, the Summer is Ended,  and we are not saved…’

I heard a congregation… ruefully confess…

‘We are the people left behind…’… wandering and lost in the wilderness…

 

But LORD didn’t we prophesy? Did we not do wonders in your name?

We cast out demons…(We were the very cutting edge),

We were the ones  to establish the Kingdom NOW , ( we knew more than the rest)

But now it is so plain to see,

that none of it was sanctioned by Thee,  so we whisper,

‘The Harvest is Past, the Summer is Ended, and we are not saved…’

 

You would have taken us under your wings, as a mother bird her chicks…

But we wouldn’t have it…we didn’t think we needed that…

(We had our own,modern teachers and prophets)…but not the ones you sent…

We preferred people like Joseph Prince who taught us, that we need never repent…

 

Now we are forced to admit  to our everlasting regret, that …

‘The Harvest is Past, the Summer is Ended, and we are not saved…’

 

It is not that we weren’t warned, for you sent servants to us,

We should have listened to the ‘negative’ ones, (Wilkerson, Hunt and all the rest)…

Why couldn’t we hear them?…why didn’t we heed these ‘heresy hunters’?

They were only here for a little while…weren’t they?

Our new Shepherds told us,‘these men are dead, religious, and too negative…’

But now we see, and we can only  mournfully admit,

‘The Harvest is Past, the Summer is Ended, and we are not saved…’

 

It worked you know… the crowds poured in…

and our own prosperity deceived us…

The pop music and skits in the new churches,  were so much more appealing to our tastes,

So also the hipster,tatted Pastors in their carefully  casual dress,

Now these ex-shepherds weep, and tremble as they tearfully confess…

‘The Harvest is past, the summer is ended, and we are not saved’

 

 

We were ‘relevant’ alright, we worked hard at it…

we shed anything that smacked of religion…(which only brings anxiety)…

‘Away with the old hymns, the dry doctrines …and even humble piety’,

In with the new, we were “Going Young” you see…

for us, the emphasis was love, justice and experience, RED Letter only from here on…

but we traded worship for a concert, and truth died on our streets,

now the only song we can sing now is a dirge…

The Harvest is past, the summer is ended, and we are not saved”.

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Summer is Ended…by Bill Randles

  1. Dennis Bishop says:

    Hey Pastor Bill, That is excellent! I always watch your videos and follow you. You are the real deal my friend, I pray for you and your ministry often. May God bless you and your talents! Even so come Lord Jesus! Dennis

  2. tracehayter says:

    Oh Pastor Bill. This is so true.I have forwarded it on to all the Christians on my email list, asking them to forward it on to anyone they know who is part of the Kingdom Now movement. Most of the Christians I know are part of it. I doubt they even read my emails any more but I keep warning anyway!

  3. Lyn says:

    Oh Bill, this is just so brilliant and so NOW! I’m emailing it to a friend who I know will appreciate it as much as I did. So sad that it’ll take the Rapture to make the penny drop. God bless you and your wonderful ministry. Lyn

  4. midrashcreed says:

    Excellent and prophetic. A very moving lament. So I’ll reply in kind.

    The following was written on Tuesday, 2nd November 2010 after hearing that a mature Christian lady had claimed divine justification for divorcing her husband for another man. She once had a highly regarded discernment ministry which had blessed many people. Two rather suggestive Youtube videos of her honeymoon with this men were removed after she was sent a copy of this poem. They had distressed my wife who had also seen them.

    MY LADY

    Why did you fall my lady, my lady?
    Why did you fall?

    What provoked you to desert your husband after decades of marriage?

    Why did you fall my lady, my lady?
    Why did you fall?

    What gnawing restlessness drove you to take this reckless step?

    Why did you fall my lady, my lady?
    Why did you fall?

    What illicit passion made you seek comfort in the arms of a stranger?

    Why did you fall my lady, my lady?
    Why did you fall?

    What good purpose can be served by the making of futile excuses?

    Why did you fall my lady, my lady?
    Why did you fall?

    What twisted perversity led you to flaunt your sin for all to see?

    Why did you fall my lady, my lady?
    Why did you fall?

    What future do you face after this cruel act of betrayal?

    Why did you fall my lady, my lady?
    Why did you fall?

    What marriage is safe after yours has so publicly come to such a messy end?

    Why did you fall my lady, my lady?
    Why did you fall?

    What prevents others from viewing their own marriage ‘just as a friendship’

    Why did you fall my lady, my lady?
    Why did you fall?

    What will prevent others from following this downward step of yours

    Why did you fall my lady, my lady?
    Why did you fall?

    What encouragement have you given to others to copy your reckless action?

    Why did you fall my lady, my lady?
    Why did you fall?

    What more can be said about this wretched, squalid affair?

    Where are you going my lady, my lady
    Where are you going?

    Alas! We thought we knew you well,
    But in reality neither we, nor your husband knew you at all

    Who were you my lady, my lady,
    Who… WERE YOU?

  5. S Lindz says:

    Wow! Very true. Have seen this from the early seventies.

Leave a Reply

