Doing The Truth…John 3 pt 19

And this is the condemnation, that light is come into the world, and men loved darkness rather than light, because their deeds were evil.  For every one that doeth evil hateth the light, neither cometh to the light, lest his deeds should be reproved.  But he that doeth truth cometh to the light, that his deeds may be made manifest, that they are wrought in God (John 3:19-21)

Jesus’ discussion with Nicodemus,  that there is a “new birth” ended on the related topic of the final judgment of all men at the throne of God. Being “born from above”is the only way possible for men to escape the condemnation that they are already under, as well as the ultimate and final damnation we all deserve. All men are sinners and liable to judgment.

The basis for condemnation? Why will so many be condemned forever, to spend eternity being ruined and estranged from all of the comforts and beauty that God has prepared for man? Jesus , the one to whom God the Father has committed all judgment to, condenses the issue down to one charge;

That when the light came  to us from God, men preferred darkness instead, rejecting Jesus, and all that he did and stood for. They don’t accept his revelation of man’s heart , and of man’s need, and most of all they abhor the message of the Cross and all that it implies.

This is the very meaning of evil. Not so much the magnitude of harmful works or words. Nor is evil defined by the extent of the damage done by our sins. Rather, Evil as defined by Jesus is the adamant refusal of God’s light, the willful shutting out of the heart God’s truth. Evil is the preference towards darkness over light, the opting for lies ,fantasies, and  self-serving illusions rather than for Divine truth, as revealed particularly in Jesus.

What does the gospel  mean by the expression ‘the Truth’?

Truth is not a general word, as we now use it, such as the truth of Algebra, physics, history, geomoetry….etc.  . When the apostles spoke of the truth, they were referring to the only genuine revelation of Spiritual reality; ie who God is, who and what man is, the plight of man, and the God appointed answer to our dilemma, the nature of sin and redemption.

Truth is the eternal reality as revealed by Jesus, who said of himself, “I am the Truth”.

How could we know these things other than by revelation? God has so created the world, that he has made it possible for men to discover physical realities,such as the laws of chemistry, geometry and mathematics. But how science isn’t the answer to every question.

The answers to the questions such as ‘Who am I? Why was I created? Why  is there evil and suffering?’, require Divine revelation. The Lord Jesus is the fullest revelation of the Invisible God. He is the Truth. God raised him from the dead to certify Him. His evaluation of the human condition is the truth. Likewise His work to remedy it, and his promises and warning to those who accept or reject Him, this is what is meant as ‘the truth’.

“Doing Truth” means fully accepting Jesus’ revelation and acting upon it. “He that doeth truth comes to the light…”, that is, He takes Jesus seriously, admits that he is right, and is willing to see himself and have others see him, as God sees him. No more pretense, no more hiding or play acting, simply accepting the implication of the cross, that “I am a sinner, for whom Jesus died“.

But he that doeth truth cometh to the light, that his deeds may be made manifest, that they are wrought in God .

It is living with the acceptance that everything I do or have done has been “in the sight of God” anyway, so I may as well be real about it. God sees me, and I am glad of it! He sees all of me, the ‘good’ the bad and the ugly, but He made provision for me on Calvary, because I need it! Hypocrisy is shortsighted because sooner or later all is coming out into the open.

“Doing Truth” involves confessing our sins, justifying God, and being willing to live in the light of God’s exposure. It is dropping the fig leaves of a contrived self righteousness, and allowing Jesus’ blood to wash away our sins. It is the willingness to live our lives openly in the community of Truth, among the body of Christ who love the truth also.

But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship one with another, and the blood of Jesus Christ his Son cleanseth us from all sin. If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. If we say that we have not sinned, we make him a liar, and his word is not in us.(I John 1:7-10)

Paul would echo Jesus, when  in 2 Thess 2 when he warned of  those who,

…with all deceivableness of unrighteousness in them that perish; because they received not the love of the truth, that they might be saved. And for this cause God shall send them strong delusion, that they should believe a lie: That they all might be damned who believed not the truth, but had pleasure in unrighteousness.( 2 Thessalonians 2:10-12)

It comes down to what people love and hate doesn’t it?

We are  warned that there are only two categories of people. Those who “love the darkness”,  who actually fancy the lies, the obfuscation, the cloud of denial that they are sinners before their Creator,  in danger of judgment, and in need of redemption. They gravitate to any theory or religious system which allows them to evade the Truth.

The ones who love the darkness simply have to believe the lie. It is what they resonate with, it is in them, and therefore they gravitate towards it. If there wasn’t a Benny Hinn or a Ken Copeland or the other heretics plaguing the church, someone would have to invent them, because the constituency for them is already there.They love the lie, therefore they will have the lie, sooner or later.

There are also those  who “receive the love of the truth”. They love the church or preacher who shows them their sins, they admit the claims of the gospel, that we are all sinners, in need of forgiveness and justification.

The Truth has transformed them, it resonates with them. They have been born again of it, therefore they have an inward affinity to the Truth, feeding their souls with it, living in it, promoting it at any cost. Jesus said, “…All who are of the truth shall hear my voice…”(John 18:37).

Are you “of the Truth”?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Doing The Truth…John 3 pt 19

  1. Katherine says:

    Dear Pastor Randles,
    Nearly twenty four years ago the Lord revealed to me the truth as you have beautifully laid out in this blog. I know that I belong to him. He has never let me down and when he speaks to me he doesn’t gloss over my sin but brings me to a place where I am broken before him and then I feel relief and release through repentance.
    He has been my dearest friend and I know he loves me more than I can ever imagine. I in turn told him that I would never compromise on his word and over the years I have gone from having lot’s of christian friend to now meeting in a home with five other christians.
    It has pained me over these years to see my friends succumb to a compromised message and trying to be good in front of others . These friends then suffer depression and anger, and become religious in an increasing effort to maintain the christian veneer.
    I have shared with them what the Lord told me about surrendering to him and dying to self in order to accomplish these things through his strength alone and the futility of trying to do these things in their own . Sadly, they didn’t understand and broke off their friendship with me.
    I have seen in Great Britain, my country, the word of God slowly being rendered useless in peoples lives as they seek after teachings which improve their self esteem but leave them spiritually hollow.
    I have been tempted on a few occasions to follow suit as in some times of need I have had no one to turn to. The Lord gently spoke to me in those times and I tearfully repented before him and will now depend on no one but him as he is my life saver and I cannot live without him, nor would I want to.
    I love his word, as painful as it is to my flesh. I would have no other way as it’s his way and the right way. He has given me his compassion for others and is taking away my fear of rejection because of the sin I commit before him. I have felt worthless as a christian because of anger I have held inside and other unmentionables. However through the ministry, he has given you and others, he has shown me that everyone else is exactly the same and this spurs me on to surrender myself more so. I have bought one of your books about fasting and will let you know how I get on if that’s alright?
    I have never commented on your blog before but I feel led to comment at this time.

    Your sister in the Lord

    Katherine x

    • billrandles says:

      Katherine, thanks for the beautiful letter. You are putting into words what many have come to see over the years. I am so glad to hear from you and to know that the Blog is helpful. God gave me a verse to give to the many who responded to my earlier book, who testified what was unthinkable to me at the time, tat they couldn’t find a sound local church. He gave me Malachi 3:16-18-“Then they that feared the LORD spake often one to another: and the LORD hearkened, and heard it, and a book of remembrance was written before him for them that feared the LORD, and that thought upon his name.

      17And they shall be mine, saith the LORD of hosts, in that day when I make up my jewels; and I will spare them, as a man spareth his own son that serveth him.

      18Then shall ye return, and discern between the righteous and the wicked, between him that serveth God and him that serveth him not.”

  2. Katherine says:

    Thank you Pastor Randles for your reply,

    It’s lovely to read what the Lord God thinks of us. It’s hard sometimes to reconcile his thoughts of us and our actions before him but by faith we believe and rejoice in them.
    The verses the Lord gave you are perfect as always for these times and are a great encouragement to those of us who struggle with finding fellowship which is focused on the Lord and not self.
    I spent a year on my own before the Lord brought out some of my friends and we now meet twice a week to fellowship and break bread.
    I will often not be right but he is always right in everything he say’s.
    I thank God again for your ministry pastor Randles and thank you for your faithfulness and keep up the good work

    katherine x

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.