The Indictment…Romans 1-3 pt 2

As it is written, There is none righteous, no, not one:There is none that understandeth, there is none that seeketh after God.They are all gone out of the way, they are together become unprofitable; there is none that doeth good, no, not one.Their throat is an open sepulchre; with their tongues they have used deceit; the poison of asps is under their lips: Whose mouth is full of cursing and bitterness: Their feet are swift to shed blood:Destruction and misery are in their ways:And the way of peace have they not known: There is no fear of God before their eyes. Now we know that what things soever the law saith, it saith to them who are under the law: that every mouth may be stopped, and all the world may become guilty before God.(Romans 3;10-17)

The summary of the teaching of Romans 1-2, is a Divine, fourteen count indictment of the human race, all are included in it, Jew and Gentile. Drawing from Isaiah and the Psalms, the whole human race is declared by God to be ‘under sin’.

What then? are we better than they? No, in no wise: for we have before proved both Jews and Gentiles, that they are all under sin;(Romans 3:9)

The very phrase,’under sin’ is revealing, because it causes us to understand that sin itself is more than an action it is a state of being, a spiritual status. One is either ‘under grace’ or ‘under sin‘. The Law of God that Paul cites, is testimony that all, gentile and Jew are ‘under sin’, and in need of salvation.

There is none Righteous- This is a quote from Psalm 14, where the Lord actually searches the earth for even one good man, and declares that no one, not even one is good enough…

The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God. They are corrupt, they have done abominable works, there is none that doeth good.The LORD looked down from heaven upon the children of men, to see if there were any that did understand, and seek God.They are all gone aside, they are all together become filthy: there is none that doeth good, no, not one.

There is none that understandeth–This probably comes from the same Psalm, as well as incorporating Proverbs 9- which declares that “By the Knowledge of the Holy is understanding”. Those who have a sense of God’s holiness, that leads to worshipful awe and reverence, have ‘understanding’.

But Who has lived by such a sense and acted on it ? Nobody- says the Lord.

There is none that seeketh after God-This dispels the oft repeated myth about false religions such as Islam, Bhuddism, and Hinduism, that those who practice such are for the most part seeking after the true God and unable to find Him. Nothing could be further from the Truth- There is none that seeketh after God!

These religions and all false religion and irreligion are manifestations of God rejection. Man would worship anything but the true God, whose wrath is revealed from heaven, and who made us in His Image and claims sovereignty over our lives!

Since it is true that “There is none that seeketh after God”, how does anyone ever ‘find God’ ? Those who come to the saving knowledge of God didn’t seek Him until He himself put it into their hearts to seek Him. As Jesus said in John 15,

You did not choose Me but I chose you…(John 15:16)

They are all gone out of the way…-This means that everyone is turned away from God, His will, desire for Him, literally it means that we all lean away from Him. We were created to know and enjoy God forever, but since the fall of man, we have all inclined ourselves away from God as much as possible.

They are together become unprofitable- The word for a useless slave, a horse with a broken leg, spoiled merchandise. God has declared that in our natural state, there is not one person that He can actually use as they are.

There is none who do good-God’s evaluation is what counts, not man’s.Man says something like, ‘Mother Teresa, Martin Luther King, or Ghandi sure do a lot of good in this world.”But God has said there is none that doeth good !

This is hard for people to accept, because deep in the heart of the human race, there is the false belief that there is still a lot of ‘good’ in the human heart, in spite of all of our glaring ‘faults’. My hope at one time was that my “good deeds would out weigh my bad deeds” so that I could get to heaven.

What a bitter pill to swallow, that there is none that doeth good… then as if to emphasize it to the humanistic hopers among us, he states, …no, not one.Do you believe in God’s indictment of you? can you justify the one who brings such a damning charge against you? We will continue this tomorrow…

This entry was posted in Romans 1-3, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Indictment…Romans 1-3 pt 2

  1. Mellany McKenzie says:

    I totally and absolutely agree that there is none righteous
    No not one
    Jesus is the only way, the truth and the life and that no one comes to the Father except through Him.

    But look at the church today.
    Did we just forget how to love one another or is it deception or is it our flesh or satan?
    Apostasy seems rampant.

    I just tried to find a new little church to attend in our area
    It was my b/d and Chuck was refereeing soccer.
    So I went
    Usually we watch Pastor Mike Warren on tv
    He is sharing at the Berean Conference this w/e
    It is live streamed.

    I went to check it out and they had just come back from Redding California.
    They go there once per year
    They just rented a restaurant that was not rented for quite awhile.
    They have great plans and believe they are doing God’s will
    Are they?

    They think they are apostles and the lady pastor was speaking of Beth Moore.
    A bible study and also another one on the Book of Revelation
    They knew about the Ezekiel 38 and 39 war
    But not about the rapture.

    I know that lady is not correct on her theology.
    I tried to share.
    I mean they are listening to awful man “the holy ghost bartender”.
    I mean it is unbelievable

    R town is only 2000 people.
    Even here?
    There is another little church that just started up
    Bible study in a home and now they meet sunday nights at 6pm
    I went b/c I miss sunday evening services.
    But the wife of the pastor reads and listens to Jesus Calling books etc.
    I know that is not right bibicaly but when u try to point that out people get offended.
    I am not sure why?

    One lady I tried to share with believes that Benny Hinn is all that and a slice of bread too.
    She believes she has a healing ministry.
    When u point out that even his nephew disagrees with him she just does not believe it.
    I mention lighthouse trails and try to give out booklets but to no avail.
    She is so convinced of her experiences but not the word of God.

    I ordered some of Roger Oakland’s books and I will give the book to them along with my testimony of coming out of one of those crazy churches.
    I guess we are to work out our salvation with fear and trembling because nothing else works but being on our knees in prayer.
    I just have so many family and friends.
    Not saved
    and I just cannot figure it out.
    I will trust and obey because there is no other way to be happy in Jesus but to trust and obey.

    but my mind always goes to what happens when people become Christians and all the apostasy in the church?

    Another church plant is having a bar-b-que on the 31st of August
    Please pray for this.
    It seems like r little village is a hotbed of activity.
    I am praying Christ wins out and no one else does

    Maranatha!

    In Christ
    Mellany

    I do share this blog with family and friends
    Thank u for your posting

    • Hope says:

      Mellany, Thank you SO much for sharing this! My small town has also been saturated with this deception. Unbelievable!!! I truly understand the helplessness and the frustration. God bless you!!!

    • Maureen Leigh says:

      Mellany there is so much apostasy nowadays it seems no one even cares about the truth any more. When people become Christians they are born again, the Lord Jesus takes care of them, and as long as they abide in Him they will recognise error, lies, hypocrisy, and those who don’t really believe at all, just do their own thing.It is hard to believe, but we have to just follow Jesus because we love Him, and of course pray for those led astray.
      Some I cannot pray for, it’s as if the Holy Spirit blocks. I often wonder if some of the false teachers were ever saved at all.
      Watchmen are meant to look out for harm coming to the body of Christ aren’t they? Let us pray for them, it’s a difficult job;
      I bless the day I heard of Pastor Bill, and all the others who watch out for us. It is they who are the true shepherds, while the undiscerning and lovers of the praise of men will have no reward in heaven unless they repent and get it right .
      God bless you, take it to the Lord in prayer. He always listens, and acts according to His will.

  2. Maureen Leigh says:

    I am so tired Mellany so I will get back to this as soon as I can Meanwhile I pray for you .

  3. standingfirm says:

    I will pray for you also Mellany. I do know how you feel. Benny Hinn, Beth Moore, Rodney Howard Browne, etc. People who are deceived do not want the truth. When you try to lovingly show them and talk to them about these doctrines of demons the fangs come out! It broke my heart about twelve years ago I lost a dear Christian girl friend to the apostasy. She got heavily involved in “Theo Phostic Counseling” (now called Theo Phostic Prayer). It is basically guided imagery and visualization techniques. Her whole personality changed. I tried and tried to show her the truth about what she was involved in. She did not want the truth and behaved like I was trying to take her “candy” away from her. I loved her and did not want to see her get sucked into the occult disguised as being Christian. Instead of her seeing that I was trying to warn her, she took it as a frontal assault on herself and paid no attention. I even had a 72 year old minister try to talk to her. She would not listen to him either. I had to walk away as the Lord commands in a situation like this. My heart still gets heavy when I look around and see not only the apostasy in the church’s but 2nd Timothy chapter three being lived out. Dear heavenly Father, please give us the strength to continue to stand firm in these last days as we wait for you and please comfort our hearts. We love you Lord and long to be with you. In Jesus’ precious name, Amen.
    MARANATHA!!!

  4. Dmarie says:

    “And I will kill her children with pestilence, and all the churches will know that I am He who searches the minds and hearts; and I will give to each one of you according to your deeds. But I say to you, the rest who are in Thyatira, who do not hold this teaching, who have not known the deep things of Satan, as they call them—I place no other burden on you. Nevertheless what you have, HOLD FAST until I come.”

    ~ Rev 2:23-25

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.