Jordan Peterson’s Soul Pain…

Wisdom crieth without; she uttereth her voice in the streets: She crieth in the chief place of concourse, in the openings of the gates: in the city she uttereth her words, saying, How long, ye simple ones, will ye love simplicity? and the scorners delight in their scorning, and fools hate knowledge? (Proverbs 1:20-22)

Wisdom cries out in the streets. There are many ways in which she does this, but one way Wisdom cries out, is in popular current culture and events. I believe that if anyone has ears to hear, they will perceive and perhaps even be able to interpret what Wisdom is crying out about.

A Jungian Psychologist and Canadian University professor, Jordan Peterson went from relative obscurity, to being a well known and highly sought after lecturer.

The reasons for this are manifold, but two come to mind; Peterson refused to be forced into using a “preferred pronoun” in a filmed confrontation with transgender people on Campus.

Secondly Peterson became famous for a series of lectures on Bible stories. He gave them a Jungian interpretation. These lectures have been seen by millions and have proven to be wildly popular.

In the little clip below Peterson has a very emotionally tormenting moment while discussing Christ. Jordan does not claim to be Christian, as a Jungian, He believes that all “myths” are significant, but that the Bible is the supreme “Myth” and is culturally important whether it is objectively true or not.

However, as you will see, the person of Christ is so attractive and otherworldly to Peterson, He doesn’t know what to do with him. He is troubled that He finds himself believing in Christ on some level, and doesn’t know how to ‘process’ that.

I (and a lot of other people) find Peterson’s career and even his travails (which he has allowed to be publicly known) to be very interesting and perhaps even significant.

This man is an academic, has been an Atheist throughout his career, and He is a devoted Jungian. He has been trained to think about metaphysical and spiritual matters in Jungian terms. He recognizes the symbolic, he studies comparitive religion and ancient mythology, but it is obvious that the person of Christ really touches him.

He believes that people need these “symbols” and “Archetypes” from “the narrative realm”, (The story world of religion, myths and even fables) and that they have relevance, even if they have no connection to the “objective world”, ie the real, concrete world.

But Peterson seems to be realizing that Jesus Christ touched both worlds, that Jesus lived in history and that he cannot be relegated to the world of archetypes and myths that people like Peterson are too enlightened to actually believe in, and to worship. As you can see this touches Peterson deeply and it troubles him as well.

Peterson’s interviewer, Jonathan Pageau, is a Greek Orthodox, icon carver, who has a well known podcast called “the Symbolic World”, and is trying to evangelize Peterson, or at least engage with him on Peterson’s level.

I found the original whole interview interesting, although I have problems with Pageau’s evangelistic emphasis. ( I love Pageau and often find his takes interesting, and applaud him for trying to reach Peterson.) .

To put a complicated topic in a simple box. my problems are twofold, I don’t understand why Pageau keeps talking about “hierarchy” of reality and symbolism. It could be me, perhaps I am not intellectually able to understand, but when a very intelligent man is crying in agony of soul because he is haunted by the very beauty of Christ, the concept of ‘hierarchy’ seemed to be strange direction to point him to.

My other problem is that Pageau kept trying to get Peterson to accept “Theosis”, the Greek Orthodox teaching that in the big picture, God is bringing those who believe in Him to participation in ‘godhood’. This is false doctrine.

Peterson is obviously in very much spiritual pain, and I would call on all of us to pray for his salvation.

One of the problems I see with Peterson, is that as an intellectual and highly regarded professor, and as someone who is literally being credited with bringing people to the Bible and even to faith in Christ, through his Jungian lecture series; is that He is an ‘expert’ on spirituality.Peterson even questioned openly in the interview, why it is that so many have come to a re-appreciation of the Bible thru his lectures, when there are so many churches and preachers who should have been doing that very thing.

One cannot come to know Christ, as an ‘expert’, Therefore Peterson is doubly tormented. He ‘knows’ so much more than so many about religion and the Bible and even Christ… but he also knows that He doesn’t really know Christ and is not even sure that he believes in Him.

The Words of Jesus come to mind,

At that time Jesus said, “I praise you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, because you have hidden these things from the wise and learned, and revealed them to little children. 26 Yes, Father, for this is what you were pleased to do.( Matthew 11:25)

Oh that Peterson could ‘know nothing’ and know that he knows nothing!

Secondly in the entire hour and a half interview the issue of sin as a personal reality, and the true moral guilt that we all need to be saved from, never came to light.

I love Jordan Peterson, and find him interesting, and I see why so many hundreds of thousands of University students absolutely either love or hate him, but He is a sinner (as I am) and needs to know that.

I think it occurred to me that Peterson is somewhat comfortable discussing the existence of God with a Sam Harris or other noted atheists, and He is fine, sitting with a Greek Orthodox Symbologist, speaking of the “narrative world” as opposed to the “Objective world” and speaking of Christ as a perfect “Archetype”.

But for Peterson to entertain the idea of Christ being a real person, in the real world, and of Christ himself studying the soul of Peterson is unnerving and troubling to Peterson as you can see on the tape.

As another one of Peterson’s influences, Frederich Neitsche once said, “If you look into the Abyss long enough, it starts looking into you…”. If that is true of the Abyss, how much more is it true of Jesus Christ, the risen Lord and Savior, whose eyes are of fire?

I welcome any thoughts or feedback…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Jordan Peterson’s Soul Pain…

  1. Crystal Johnson says:

    I only saw the part where he got emotional and it was very moving. I honestly believe that he has come to this point because many Christians have been praying for him for years now in recognition of the searching they see in him and also the trauma of his recent illness. There is a real and deep affection for this man and I hope that this latest interview will keep Christians lifting him up before Christ. I pray too that he will spend time with those who are truly born-again and alive in Christ.

  2. The Remnant Alliance says:

    I REALLY like Jordan Peterson too. He, like no other, has been able to divide what people say, what they claim to believe and the truth of all the falsehood they actually live. No one else I’ve heard can do that so well as Peterson except for messages I’ve heard from Louis Reyneke, who just amazes me with his discernment. Peterson seems to flow like I imagine Saul of Tarsus would have prior to Christ. Wow can you imagine once Peterson’s eyes open to the Messiah?

    I love watching his interviews with liberals and how their ‘logic’ just gets decimated once he responds after a ‘trick’ question or comment. Lord I pray You open his eyes!

    On Sat, Mar 13, 2021 at 12:58 PM Pastor Bill Randles Blog wrote:

    > billrandles posted: ” Wisdom crieth without; she uttereth her voice in the > streets: She crieth in the chief place of concourse, in the openings of the > gates: in the city she uttereth her words, saying, How long, ye simple > ones, will ye love simplicity? and the scorners delig” >

  3. I am not sure what to say here.
    I saw the video as well and I do pray for him but to me he is tortured. I know he has been through a lot mentally and if he continues on this path he will make himself ill again.
    Jesus said we had to come to him in faith like a little child or in 1 Corinthians where Paul said he has chosen the foolish and despised to confound the wise.

    If you keep analyzing and learning and never stop to really think, you are doomed.
    God gave us common sense and vain philosophies.

    Even Jesus said He was the way; the truth and the life and no one comes to the Father except through the son.
    Jesus cannot lie so take Him at His word, is what I would say to Jordan.

    If Jordan admires Jesus so much then believe or continue to be tortured.
    Being tortured is not a good thing.
    I just felt compassion for Jordan and a desire that he would change his mind and trust Christ, like millions of other people.

    He is willing to be honest then he should be honest about the fact he is a man and that is all he is!
    He is a man!
    God is God!
    He cannot become a God
    He must submit to Christ either here and now or at the judgment seat of Christ

    When I was first saved I spoke of my father to my Pastor at the time.
    My father was dead at the time. He had died as a teenager.
    I had spoken to my sister of Christ but she wanted to be with Dad.
    Dad believed in carl Jung and my Pastor said he was close to knowing God
    He wrote in my teenage autograph book (all the rage at the time:))
    My Dad was my hero.
    The reason I had asked was because once I learned of hell I knew where Dad was.
    When I shared with my sister, Christ, she said “I want to be with Dad”.
    Where Dad is.

    I want to be with my Heavenly Father
    With the Christ; the Messiah
    My choice is Jesus

    Jordan will have to make that choice or he risks driving himself insane trying to deny what so plainly he understands
    Hell is real and Jesus spoke more about Hell then Heaven.
    It is a terrifying thing to fall into the hands of a living God.

    It is easy to talk and talk and analyze and theorize but his soul hangs in the balance.
    Jesus is more than a man; Jesus is God; the only begotten of the Father; full of grace and truth
    ! Corinthians chapter 15 vv 1-4 says it way better than me:)

    I pray for Jordan because he is clearly torturing himself trying to come to another explanation than the one Jesus Himself said.
    He is the way, the truth and the life and no one comes to the Father, except through Him.

    Jesus died a painful agonizing death on the cross;
    He endured the wrath of God for our sins.
    He paid the penalty.
    I am thankful that the blood of Christ washes me from all sin and that I do not consider Him to be just a good moral teacher.
    Jesus was not just a good man or teacher.
    Jesus is God and I thank God He sits at the right hand of the Father interceding for us.

    Even Jesus said that John the Baptist was the greatest man born of a woman but he would be the least in the kingdom of God.
    Matthew 11v11

    I love Jesus; plain and simple; I will stick to that and not men theorizing or agonizing over whether or not they should except Jesus or not.
    Jesus deserves our all:)

    Doxology
    33 Oh, the depth of the riches of the wisdom and[a] knowledge of God!
    How unsearchable his judgments,
    and his paths beyond tracing out!
    34 “Who has known the mind of the Lord?
    Or who has been his counselor?”[b]
    35 “Who has ever given to God,
    that God should repay them?”[c]
    36 For from him and through him and for him are all things.
    To him be the glory forever! Amen.

    Maranatha!

    In Christ
    mellany

  4. Sam says:

    This is a great breakdown, and a really fascinating interview.

    You can see that Christ is drawing JP, and I think this coincides with the personal travail and suffering he has experienced as of late. He is very close. But you can also see the various spiritual and intellectual barriers,l are still in place (albeit they are being strained), preventing and blocking him from fully crossing the threshold. I think now it’s a question of whether he will humble himself enough to accept Christ or whether he places too great a value on his Jungian pedigree and way of thinking.
    God has used JP tremendously, I think he will be brought into the fold eventually.

  5. Veronica O’Rourke says:

    Thank you Pastor Bill for sharing this.. I did see this on YouTube and thought: wow is this man fighting what his intellect is telling him? What I saw was a man fighting the inner Conscience that Almighty God put in us all, we are made in His image and likeness… we need Jesus to show us what we truly are: (sinners) and need to come to a saving knowledge of the Lord Jesus Christ.. I pray for Jordan… May the Lord Jesus Christ save him.. Jesus Christ is the only way.. maybe one day the penny will drop for Jordan

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.